What are your chances of acceptance?
Your chance of acceptance
Duke University
+ add school
Your chancing factors
Unweighted GPA: 3.7
SAT: 720 math
| 800 verbal


Low accuracy (4 of 18 factors)

What are the Seven Sisters of the South colleges?

Is anyone familiar with the term 'Seven Sisters of the South' colleges? What are these schools and why are they grouped together under this term?

13 days ago

The Seven Sisters of the South are a group of historically women's liberal arts colleges located in the southern United States. These institutions are often compared to the original Seven Sisters colleges in the Northeast due to their prestigious reputation and commitment to providing women with a high-quality education. However, it's essential to note that some of these schools have since become co-educational.

Here is a list of the Seven Sisters of the South colleges:

1. Agnes Scott College (Decatur, Georgia) - Founded in 1889, Agnes Scott remains a women's college and emphasizes global learning and women's leadership.

2. Converse College (Spartanburg, South Carolina) - Founded in 1889 as a women's college, Converse has been co-educational since 2020 and offers undergraduate and graduate programs.

3. Hollins University (Roanoke, Virginia) - Founded in 1842, Hollins University is a women's college at the undergraduate level, with both men and women admitted to its graduate programs.

4. Mary Baldwin University (Staunton, Virginia) - Founded in 1842, Mary Baldwin became a university in 2016 and now accepts both men and women to its undergraduate and graduate programs.

5. Randolph College (Lynchburg, Virginia) - Founded in 1891, Randolph College was formerly known as Randolph-Macon Woman's College but became co-educational in 2007.

6. Sweet Briar College (Sweet Briar, Virginia) - Founded in 1901, Sweet Briar remains dedicated to being a women's college and focuses on women's leadership.

7. Wesleyan College (Macon, Georgia) - Founded in 1836, Wesleyan College remains a women's college at the undergraduate level and claims to be the first college in the world chartered to grant degrees to women.

The 'Seven Sisters of the South' has never been as clearly defined as the Northeast 'Seven Sisters,' and so which schools are considered part of this group has shifted, particularly as some schools have become co-educational. Brenau University and Salem College are considered by some to have replaced Randolph College and Converse College.

The schools share this designation due to their historical focus on providing women with excellent educational opportunities during a time when few high-quality institutions were available to women. While some of these colleges have transitioned to co-educational institutions, they all maintain a strong commitment to promoting women's leadership and empowerment in their curriculum and extracurricular offerings.

13 days ago

About CollegeVine’s Expert FAQ

CollegeVine’s Q&A seeks to offer informed perspectives on commonly asked admissions questions. Every answer is refined and validated by our team of admissions experts to ensure it resonates with trusted knowledge in the field.